Of course, £500 is still quite a lot compared to other 1440p monitors out there, and I should point out that my current 1440p recommendation, the AOC Agon AG273QX, can currently be had for £100 less over at Currys PC World. Still, there’s something about the Raptor 27 that’s just so darn lovely. Maybe it’s the fabric-covered back. Or the super accurate IPS panel. No, wait, I’m not going to lie. It’s the exquisite cable management lanes round the back. There, I said it. No use denying it. The AOC AG273QX is still arguably the better value monitor overall, though, as you not only get a higher 165Hz refresh rate on the AOC versus the Razer’s 144Hz, but you also get more display outputs and USB ports for connecting up other devices. Its flat VA panel is also just as accurate as the Raptor 27’s IPS screen, and its HDR support is just as easy to get working, too. It might not technically be one of Nvidia’s officially sanctioned G-Sync Compatible monitors like the Raptor is right now, but I didn’t have any problems getting its Freesync tech to work with my Nvidia graphics card when I had it in for testing, making it a great choice for Nvidia and AMD graphics card owners alike. Equally, though, I still think the Raptor 27 wins on style. Seriously, just look at those neat little cable lanes. Absolute perfection.

Razer s excellent Raptor monitor is  200 off right now - 47